Choons To Chillax To

sammyBeing a uni student, balancing deadlines, sleep cycles and what to eat for dinner can sometimes get quite overbearing. Stress affects everyone, but I find that having a soothing playlist is often the best remedy for any problem, so here is a small selection of tunes that are perfect to listen to after a long day when you just need to unwind.

 1) Sam Smith – Nirvana (Acoustic version)

Sam Smith has one of the most beautifully soulful voices I have ever heard. He’s releasing his debut album in May, however he has already released his E.P Nirvana. You can’t go wrong with a bit of Sam at any time!

2) Bastille – Oblivion

This song is a song that I often play when I can’t sleep – and it always works.

3) Sam Smith x Nile Rodgers x Disclosure x Jimmy Napes – Together

This tune is brilliant because it’s really versatile in a way, it kind of adapts to suit your mood. I find it’s perfect to both unwind to and to play when I’m getting ready to go out! The combination of Sam Smith, Nile Rodgers, Disclosure and Jimmy Napes is phenomenal.

4) Mogwai – Wizard Motor

I only discovered this one recently, but sometimes songs without lyrics are perfect for easy listening after a long day. It’s quite different, but so soothing and hey, no words to memorize, just quality music!

5) UB40 – Red, Red wine

‘Nuff said.

6) Hey Now – London Grammar

It’s not just this one song, the entire album is absolutely incredible. Named ‘If You Wait’ the bands debut album is full of haunting melodies and soft instrumentals that are perfect to relax to. 

7) Jose Gonzalez- Heartbeats

This song has a lot good memories for me, so whenever I play it, I get to relive them. I think it’s amazing when a song is able to do that.

8) Lana Del Rey – Video Games

No relaxing playlist is complete without a bit of Lana. Her voice continues to mesmerise me no matter how many times I listen to her. This is a great, slow track, really peaceful.

So these are a few songs from my relaxation playlist; get in touch in the comments section of this post or via our facebook page if you have any others that you’d like to share, we’d love to have a listen!

Leave a Reply

